Kill la Kill Review (Spoiler-free)

5142ab9ed5dd56153b731de52021ac5b1379547918_full

When I first heard about Kill la Kill, I thought it was some anime filled with naked/cleavage showing girls and fan service. It turns out, I was right. I mean c’mon. Listen to the idea of an outfit that powers you up but shows nearly your entire body. Not to mention, the main character and antagonist are girls. However, no one had told me it was also filled with a beautiful plot, awesome actions scenes, outrageous comedy, and top notch characters (both human and clothing). Nobody has ever thought of a plot where what you wear can actually determine your power! I mean who would’ve thought about that? (I may be wrong here though)

What enticed me to watch this series when the first two episodes came out, despite the hate it was getting from women saying it was sexist and the fact that guys only watched it for the “plot” (if you know what I mean), was the fact that it was made by Trigger. Being a Gurren Lagann fan, I had to check it out. Watching the first episode, I understood why some girls were not a fan and some guys just wanted to *ahem*. An anime about a girl wearing revealing clothing while fighting?

As a guy, I will proudly say that Kill la Kill is one of the best anime shows I’ve ever had the pleasure of watching. And I’m not just saying it because it contains some revealing clothing. I’m saying it because of the plot and action. It just pains me to know that people sometimes don’t watch it because they think that the fan service makes it a useless anime.

Honestly though, Kill la Kill is a masterpiece. It’s so fast paced that you don’t get the chance to get bored with it unlike other anime stuffed with fillers. The characters are all wonderful and really bring this anime together. And don’t get me started on the action scenes.

Not to mention that ending! Trigger gives the best endings to their anime shows! I can’t spoil it nor explain it in detail. I can say however that it is a great ending.

The reason actually behind the “Spoiler-free” review was because I want you guys to watch it. This is a kind of anime that not only Otaku’s will love but also normal people would. That is why I will not spoil anything in this review.

I’m not sure if they’ll be a season 2 for this anime, but if you want some sort of validation from me about this season, here is my rating:

screen-shot-2014-02-16-at-5-03-30-pmThat’s right. Like Golden Time, I give it a 10/10.

 

Leave a Reply

