There’s no “I” in “TEAM” but there is a “ME”

Alright so it’s been a long time since I posted a Life post. What can I say? I literally had no inspiration to write anything. Then I saw in my Facebook timeline this picture:

Screen Shot 2014-09-14 at 10.24.40 PMYup it was funny alright. So I clicked the picture to see the comments:

Screen Shot 2014-09-14 at 10.25.38 PMI saw one comment that actually got me thinking:

Screen Shot 2014-09-14 at 10.26.08 PMVery true if you look closely, there is indeed a “ME” in “TEAM.”

Now you may be wondering, what has this got to do with life? What is Jobe trying to say? Why in the world is he trying to point out something very useless? Why am I reading this? Why are there too many questions in this paragraph? Should I unfollow Jobe on Twitter? (Okay just kidding don’t do that)

Well, in truth there really is no “I” in “TEAM.” Literally, if you look at the letters you won’t find an “I” there. Figuratively speaking though, no man in a group/community is an island. Everyone contributes to a single goal. Take for example my Philo 10 class. In the words of my professor, “You are part of a community here. Whatever you say in class, be it an answer to a question or a question itself, you are contributing to a society.” So you are not alone. However, that doesn’t mean you should slack off. Don’t you just hate it when you have that one groupmate in a certain class project who just goes around relying on his other fellow groupmates to carry him? Don’t you hate it when you pay your taxes like a good contributor to society unlike your neighbor who doesn’t bother to even look at his tax dues. That’s what I meant this whole time. There is a “ME” in “TEAM.” In fact, it’s an important part. Without it, there would be no “TEAM.” Meaning, you are an important contributor to it. So whenever you dedicate yourself to something like a group work or organization, don’t slack off. Do not also take all the load for yourself. Learn to trust one another and learn to make yourself trustworthy.

Leave a Reply

